Avalon Advisory Board

Avalon Media System Advisory Board Members

An advisory board of six members has been established for the two-year duration of our Mellon Grant funding with representation drawn from Avalon implementers, the Samvera community, the media archives community, media library community, university IT community, and scholars using media in their research.

  • Howard Besser, Director, Moving Image Archive and Preservation Program, Tisch School of the Arts, New York University

  • Lois Brooks, Vice Provost for Information Services, Oregon State University

  • Karen Cariani, Director, Media Library and Archives, WGBH Educational Foundation

  • Tom Cramer, Chief Technology Strategist and Associate Director of Digital Library Systems and Services, Stanford University Libraries

  • Scott Spicer, Media Outreach and Learning Spaces Librarian, University of Minnesota

  • Mark J. Williams, Associate Professor of Film and Media Studies, Dartmouth College

In-person meetings of the advisory board will be conducted in Evanston in order to gain input from participants on project priorities and strategies and quarterly meetings will be held virtually to update members on progress and seek additional feedback.

We thank our Advisory Board for their dedication to our work.